The Florida Department of Health will begin enforcing the state’s ban on vaccine passports on Sept. 16.
According to a DOH rule issued last Friday, Florida businesses, governments or education institutions that require proof of vaccination from customers or members of the public will face fines of $5,000. Violators will have the chance to appeal but, once the fine is finalized, they will have 30 days to pay.
The bill prohibiting vaccine passports was passed by the Republican-controlled legislature and signed into law earlier this year by Gov. Ron DeSantis. It allows the DOH to issue fines that do not exceed $5,000 per violation.